Yaya Bey Announces Album, Shares Video for New Song “Chasing the Bus”: Watch

Yaya Bey Announces Album, Shares Video for New Song “Chasing the Bus”: Watch

Ten Fold, the follow-up to Remember Your North Star, comes out in the spring via Big Dada

Yaya Bey

Yaya Bey, photo by Nikita Freyermuth

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Yaya Bey has announced her new album: Ten Fold comes out May 10 via Big Dada. She’s also shared the new song “Chasing the Bus” and a self-directed music video for it that she also choreographed herself. Watch it below.

“On the surface, it’s about being taken for granted in a romantic relationship, being slept on and underestimated,” Yaya Bey said of the new single. “But beyond the surface, it’s a metaphor for how I feel in so many spaces in the industry and it’s sort of an affirmation for myself or a reminder to let go of validation or the lack thereof. To exist regardless because I have to.”

On her follow-up to 2022’s Remember Your North Star and its reggae-infused companion EP, Exodus the North Star, Yaya Bey brings in new collaborators like Exaktly and Grand Daddy I.U. for guest features. Both “Crying Through My Teeth” and “The Evidence,” singles she released last fall, appear on Ten Fold, too.

Read about Yaya Bey in “25 New and Rising Artists Shaping the Future of Music in 2023.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Yaya Bey: Ten Fold

Ten Fold:

01 Crying Through My Teeth
02 The Evidence
03 Chrysanthemums
04 Sir Princess Bad Bitch
05 East Coast Mami
06 Chasing the Bus
07 All Around Los Angeles
08 Slow Dancing in the Kitchen
09 So Fantastic [ft. Grand Daddy I.U.]
10 Eric Adams on the Club [ft. Exaktly]
11 Me and My N****s
12 Iloveyoufrankiebeverly
13 Career Day
14 Carl Thomas Sliding Down the Wall
15 Yvette’s Cooking Show
16 Let Go

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *